FD Book Medal Night 2018

Friday, October 5, 2018 - 11:17 AM

For the third time in the club’s history and the second time in two years, the FD Book Medal has finished in a three-way tie. Patrick McGinnity, Luke Partington and Matthew Allen tied on 30 votes ahead of 4th placed Brayden Ainsworth on 29 votes.

Co-Captain McGinnity found fitness and form at the back end of the year finishing strongly in the final rounds. The skipper showed his versatility throughout the year by being able to find the ball in the midfield but also go forward and kick crucial goals when needed. Midfielder Luke Partington capped off another stellar year in the blue and black. The Royals highest disposal getter for the year, averaged an impressive 25 touches per game. Damaging half forward/midfielder Matthew Allen relished being injury free in 2018. Leading the count for most of the night, he was a deserving winner as our most consistent performer for the season.

Brayden Ainsworth took home the only other Outstanding Play Award and was the obvious choice for Best First Year Player. Nathan Eaton was named Best Clubman and received the Trainer’s Award in a sign he is quickly becoming a leader within the group. Shayne Hille received the League Coaches Award. Will Maginness took out the Leading Goal Kicker award with a season tally of 26.

Taylor North won the Eric Smith Medal after being Runner Up in 2017 on 37 votes 1 ahead of 2017 Eric Smith Medal winner Nathan Eaton. In his first year of senior football, Christian Ameduri finished third on 34 votes. Ben Miller and Harley Stack ties for fourth on 33 votes.

In the Colts Jacob Msando was awarded the Hec Stremple Medal, collecting 31 votes, 6 votes ahead of Damon Greaves. In a good night for the Miller family, Louis Miller finished equal third in the Colts count with Jordan Hayden on 23 votes.

Thank you to John, Dora and the team at Teramo Caterers for their fantastic catering and service.

A big thank you to our MC for the evening Simon Beaumont, who did a tremendous job, as always

Full list of award winners below



FD Book Medalists - Donated by Tint-A-Car

  • Matthew Allen 30 Votes
  • Patrick McGinnity 30 Votes
  • Luke Partington 30 Votes

Outstanding Play Award

  • Brayden Ainsworth 29 Votes

Mussman-Gardiner Trophy (Best 1st Year Player)

  • Brayden Ainsworth

League Coaches Award

  • Shayne Hille

Best Clubman

  • Nathan Eaton

League Leading Goal Kicker

  • Will Maginness (26 Goals)

‘George Law ‘Trainers Award – SB to introduce Ken Cowley

  • Nathan Eaton

Jeremy Silcock Awards

  • Jarrod Brander
  • Taylor North


Eric Smith Medal – Donated by EPFC PP&OA

  • Taylor North 37 Votes

Runner-Up Best & Fairest - Donated by EPFC PP&OA  

  • Nathan Eaton 36 Votes

Outstanding Play - Donated by EPFC PP&OA

  • Christian Ameduri 34 Votes

Outstanding Play Award - Donated by EPFC PP&OA

  • Harley Stack 33 Votes
  • Ben Miller 33 Votes


Hec Strempel Medal (Best and Fairest)

  • Jacob Msando 31 Votes

Outstanding Play (Runner Up B&F)

  • Damon Greaves 25 Votes

Outstanding Play (B&F 2nd Runner Up)

  • Louis Miller 23 Votes
  • Jordan Hayden 23 Votes

Encouragement Award - Donated by WAFL Combined Past Players

  • Sebit Kuek

Country Development Award - Donated by Royals in Melbourne

  • Patrick Reilly
  • Cooper Sparks

Best Clubman

  • Kane Hughes

Trademark Award

  • Rueben Pasalich

Most Improved Player

  • Ashley Willcocks

Best First Year Player – Lyall Hunt Scholarship

  • Kyle Robinson