Ramsay back-to-back FD Book Medallist

Saturday, October 10, 2020 - 9:00 AM

Jackson Ramsay has etched his name in East Perth history, claiming his second consecutive FD Book Medal as the club’s fairest and best player.

Ramsay is the first player to go back-to-back since Rod Wheatley in 2000 and 2001.

The 25-year-old finished the count with 28 votes, ahead of runners-up Rohan Kerr and Angus Scott (20 votes) and third placed Kye Willcocks (18 votes).

In the shortest WAFL season since its inaugural year in 1885, Ramsay averaged 29 disposals across his eight matches.

Elevated to vice-captain ahead of the 2020 season, he captained the league side in the absence of Patrick McGinnity for three matches.

An East Perth product, hailing from Coolbinia Junior Football Club, Ramsay spent five seasons on Collingwood’s list before returning to East Perth ahead of the 2018 season.

Despite suffering a second ACL injury, sustained in Round 1 2018, Ramsay made a remarkable recovery and went on to win the FD Book Medal last season.

It was a tight count in the Eric Smith Medal for the Reserves’ fairest and best player in a premiership year.  Julian Ameduri capped off his night, awarded the Eric Smith Medal (26 votes), as well as Best Clubman. Taylor North finished runner-up (25 votes), while Nathan Arbon and Daniel Rowe tied for third place (21 votes).

Josh Hubbard and Jason Kissack were announced as the joint Hec Strempel Medallist in the Colts fairest and best count. Kyle Ackerer was awarded the Rogers Cup fairest and best player in the club’s inaugural season in the competition.


FD Book Medal award winners:


FD Book Medal
Jackson Ramsay (28 votes)

Outstanding Play Award - Runner-up
Rohan Kerr & Angus Scott (20 votes)

Outstanding Play Award – Third place
Kye Willcocks (18 votes)

Jeremy Silcock Trademark Award
Jordan Hayden & Kye Willcocks

Rising Star Award
Matthew Young

League Coaches’ Award
Jayden Magro

Leading Goalkicker
Eddie Simpson

George Law Trainers Award
Kobe Chrisp

Best Clubman Award
Julian Ameduri


Eric Smith Medallist
Julian Ameduri (26 votes)

Outstanding Play Award - Runner-up
Taylor North (25 votes)

Outstanding Play Award – Third place
Nathan Arbon & Daniel Rowe (21 votes)


Hec Strempel Medallist
Josh Hubbard & Jason Kissack (25 votes)

Outstanding Play Award - Runner-up
Jaylen Colegate (24 votes)

Outstanding Play Award – Third place
Kye Jasper, Jake Littleton, Luke Lombardi (23 votes)

Rogers Cup

Fairest and Best
Kyle Ackerer

Kareema Kheder & Isabella Edgley